A Christmas Story

Posted: December 25, 2012 in Blogging
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

There is something extremely unsatisfying about going to bed at two am and waking up two hours later. For one, I’m one of those kinds of people who will roll and roll, trying to get comfortable enough to fall back asleep again. Then again, I’m also the type of person that wants to get up when I wake up and find something to do, because I know I won’t be going back to sleep any time soon. That’s always what happens when I’m in bed with my fiance. I’m always hoping that I’ll fall back asleep so that I can stay in bed with him, but it never works and I end up having to grab my pillows and lie on the couch for a while.

So… That’s what I am doing right now though I’m not really lying so much as sitting in the middle of the couch watching the 24-hour marathon of A Christmas Story on TBS. There is something about this movie that makes me so nostalgic and happy. Everyone else I know absolutely hates the damn movie, but I can’t help it if I love it. I do happen to have a friend or two that will watch it just as religiously as I will on Christmas. In fact, I know of at least one friend that seems to look forward to the inevitable marathon more than I do.

Christmas this year has been extremely fruitful and I feel blessed by the bounty that I have received (even though we’re not done yet). Ever since I can remember, my mother has asked us for a list for our birthdays and Christmas, due by Halloween. My brother and I both have winter birthdays and so it’s an easy deadline that allows her to get what we want since we’re more difficult to shop for every year. Honestly, we were having more fun with the simple things we didn’t ask for than the expensive gifts from the list.

My mother packs our stockings with cheap items and candy every year. Hell, I’m 30 and she still does it. We all have one (including the dog and my husband-to-be). I ended up with a paddle ball that I have absolutely no coordination to use, but my mother and aunt got a kick out of watching me try. I also go a spiky rubber ball that you can bounce to set off LEDs inside that my dad tried to steal to give to the dog, but I held onto it fiercely just because it was shiny. I also go a wind-up penguin. Why? Because it’s cute, that’s why!

The stocking gift that we’ve got the most use out of happened to be a key chain laser pointer. My fiance happens to have two cats who are extremely attracted to laser pointer tag. Ever since we got back to his apartment, we’ve been terrorizing the holy hell out of the cats. Houdini, our big black cat, is the funniest. Honestly, I’ve never seen this cat move this fast for any reason other than to retreat. I wish I had taken video of the cats and the laser lights. The first time I made Bella slap the water bowl, because I had settled the laser light in the very center was so hilarious that I couldn’t stop laughing long enough to breathe. Absolutely great entertainment.

Well, my “real” presents were pretty much everything I had asked for on a list. I always provide photos for reference when dealing with my mother, because sometimes she can just print them off and show them to the people behind the store counter. It works extremely well with Xbox games seeing as my mother barely knows what an Xbox is. Most of my gifts were the DVDs that I asked her for: the 50th anniversary collection of James Bond, Firefly, The Walking Dead seasons one and two, the complete Jem and The Holograms series, every single one of the Alien movie series plus Prometheus, and (last but not least) the complete DVD set of Are You Being Served? I’m being dead serious when I say the haul was splendid. Oh, and my mother picked us up a BluRay player, because she bought the James Bond set on BluRay! YAY!

[The following contains photos. You have been warned.]

hat

The stuff that made me happiest were the things that I didn’t know I was getting. I got a Vanity Smurf hat from my mother and it made me so happy. I couldn’t believe it. I wore the thing all the way through the rest of our Christmas gathering. I mean, what else was I supposed to do with the thing?! My brother got a sock monkey hat and he wore his as well. Vanity came with a couple pairs of gloves that my mother picked out to match and she’s the most amazing woman that I know.

Seriously.

My fiance got me a Nerf gun that made me giggle insanely seeing as I had been saying I wanted this exact gun for nearly two months.nerf The journey to making this gun work was an interesting one. Turns out that this particular gun needs batteries. Well, once we finally got the thing together, we loaded it up and inserted the batteries. I was trying to follow the instructions on how to fire the gun, but the damn thing never would fire correctly. My first shot went the pitiful distance of about six inches from the barrel. Turns out I had to squeeze the “turbo” trigger off and on for a while before the motor worked itself free in order to allow the gun to shoot. A note of warning to anyone wanting to purchase this fine weapon: it is LOUD. You will never be able to sneak up on anyone in a Nerf war with this thing. You’ll be the one doing the spray-and-pray distractions in order to allow your teammates to take the others down. Just an FYI.

My lovely man also got me a Stormtrooper robe from ThinkGeek.com that I love. I’m so easy to please though. If it’s geeky, I love it. It doesn’t take a lot of effort to shop for me since I’m so easily amused.

droidsThe most unexpected thing happened to be a small little box from a friend that I know from Missouri. Apparently, he stumbled upon a couple of things that he thought would be the perfect gifts for my fiance and I as a pair. We opened the package and inside we found a note along with two superhero-wrapped little boxes. I immediately knew it had to be Star Wars related. There was no other thing it could be with such an obvious reference that he could not help himself to drop. I was so elated that I tossed one to my man and instantly ripped open the other.

What did he get us? The boy got us two Star Wars Christmas bobbles. One is R2D2 and the other is C3PO. They were so cute that I had my mother take a picture of us with them so I could place it up on Facebook to thank my buddy.

us

Forgive the color change and border. My mother’s kitchen plus my iPhone 4 camera made everything in the photo extremely red so I just toned it down to black and white so you could actually see the droids in the picture. The border was just because I could. Besides, it happens to be one of the best photos we have together so I’m pretty pleased with it. He actually doesn’t look like he has a fake smile and I don’t look hideous.

So that was Christmas Eve. We haven’t even had Christmas Day yet and he’s said he has two more gifts for me. This is the man that I’m going to marry and spend the rest of my life with. I think I could not have chosen a finer “co-op partner for life” and I keep looking forward to my wedding more and more as we blend our families and traditions together.

Merry Christmas, folks.

Comments are closed.