Strange Things

Posted: January 11, 2013 in Blogging
Tags: , , , , , ,

It’s strange the things you notice when you have things changing in your life.

We found out this week that a friend of mine is having significant relationship issues. This is all happening not too long after another friend of mine broke things off with his girlfriend. It worries me if only, because Lee and I haven’t had any serious arguments or disagreements. We’ve been together for about 15 months and we’ve had possibly two arguments in the whole time. None of these were earth-shattering or game changing. Most of our disagreements are usually at a time when one or both of us were cranky from my lack of sleep or his diabetes. It makes me wonder if we’re still in that “honeymoon” phase of our relationship where everything is fine. I hope we’re past that stage.

I feel like he and I are at a point where we are comfortable and happy with each other. We both have our quirks, but there’s also things we’re having to adjust to with each other. I mean, it can’t be that bad if we’re so comfortable with each other that, when one of us passes gas, we both just laugh. I’m so comfortable with this man that it doesn’t bother me when those kinds of things happen. He is sensitive to my needs as a female of the species (ovarian cyst pains, cramps, etc.) and doesn’t demand anything from me other than my love and happiness.

I realize, with all the other things falling apart around us, that I am probably one of the luckiest women in the world right now. I’ve found someone that I can’t ask much more from (other than maybe a little more help with wedding plans). He loves me and I love him. It’s so simple that it’s hard to believe, but that’s okay.

Comments
  1. Remember that your relationship is yours and nobody else’s.
    You shouldn’t use others’ relationships to define your own.

    If you don’t argue, don’t fear it; go with it.