Trying To Form Good Habits

Posted: March 1, 2013 in Blogging
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

I did not know just how hard it was to turn bad habits into good ones.

Case in point: the dishes. For the most part, I’m trying to make sure the dishes are done every day before I go to bed. Occasionally, I miss a day, but for the most part I’ve been successful with this venture. (Though today there are still dishes in our sink, but that’s neither here nor there.) There are other things that we’re trying to change for the positive and they’re coming slowly. It’s going to take time to change 25 and 30 years of bad habits. We know this, but we’re trying, because we want to succeed and make our new lives together good.

For my man’s part of the changes, he went to see a diabetic educator this week. We’re going to make a conscious effort to get his diabetes under as much control as we can. We’ve learned that sugar isn’t the enemy. Yeah, I’m shocked too. Apparently, the real enemy of the diabetic is carbohydrates since they break down into sugar over time. I’m still against him having things that are nothing but sugar (like syrups or candy), but the book the educators provided him with has some very detailed information about what he can and cannot eat a lot of. More than anything, he’s excited to be able to have portion sizes for fruits so he knows how much he can have. He’s craved fruit for so long and I’m glad he can have it now. Last night was the first time in a long while that he had chocolate milk as well. I could tell he was really looking forward to that milk, because he found a cup that measured to about eight ounces so he could make sure he had just the right amount for his snack. It made me happy that he could have it, but he was a little worried about his blood sugar going up during the day. I told him to just keep calm. It might take his body a few days to adjust to the new regimen. I’m just happy that this is going on right now.

As for my good habits, I’m working on my eating as well. I’m trying to eat smaller portions. I’ve actually stopped living out of the sandwich vendors at work and have been taking my lunch to work every night. I’ve also cut my usual routine of three or four 20oz bottles of Dr. Pepper per night to three or four 12oz cans per night. I’ve significantly reduced my sugar intake that way. Yeah, it’s not down to nil, but that is way better than before. I’ve also found some vitamin/energy water additive with caffeine in it and I’ve been trying to drink that whenever possible. The vitamin water has made me feel better overall, because it has B-vitamins in it and I’m always low on those. It’s a good thing, really. I’m still struggling with my eating at home, but that’s only half the week so that’s better. I’ll have this thing taken care of sometime.

So, that’s what’s been going on recently. We’re trying to turn our bad single habits into healthy soon-to-be-wed habits so that we will have a better life together. And that is what we really want: a life TOGETHER. I don’t want to marry this man and have him be gone too soon and I don’t want to disappear from this earth before we’ve had our time together. I’ve only just found him and for that to end right now would be horrible for either of us. I want to see us in a long, healthy marriage and spend forever together like my grandparents did. If that happens, my life will be filled with so much happiness that I won’t know what to do with it all. 🙂

Comments
  1. Good Lord, you drink a lot of soda. I didn’t know. But I smoked, like, 3 cigarettes yesterday, sooo… yeah.

    • I DRUNK a lot of soda three to four days a week. I now drink about half as much and am trying to taper it off. I first thought that to lose weight I needed to cut out everything I like, but I am instead trying to cut down on the things I like and not have as much of the bad things. It actually seems like it is working too. I can tell the difference between “I’m bored” hungry and real hunger now.