The Vacation: Ugh, It’s Wednesday

Posted: March 20, 2013 in Blogging
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

I’m sad that it’s Wednesday already.

I don’t feel like I’ve had a whole vacation simply, because I’ve been fielding calls/texts from work almost every day. If it’s not one thing, it’s another. I swear these people can’t function without me and I’m the one that puts in the least amount of time there. I suppose that it just proves I’m a needed asset at my job? It’s still annoying to be off, but not really off.

I found out yesterday that my great aunt died. It was a sad thing to read, but I really didn’t know her very well. The elder members of my family did and I feel bad for them, but I don’t have that connection that I have with other members of my family. I suppose the only reason I even talk about it is to acknowledge that it happened so people don’t think that I’m uncaring or just don’t know about it. I did know. I, oddly enough, get the local obituaries in my email. It’s weird, I know, but I do it, because I want to keep tabs on our frequent flyers at the hospital. I can see who has died and who just hasn’t been in for a while. Her funeral was today, but I don’t do funerals. I’ve been to very few and I want to keep it that way. I just don’t do well there surrounded by all the sadness. I happen to feel differently about death than some people do and it makes them uncomfortable around me so I just don’t go. Period.

Us

Our dinner was at Sekisui in Little Rock. Delicious food. Great atmosphere.

Otherwise, things have been okay. We went to a concert in Little Rock Saturday night. It was pretty great. P.O.D., Three Days Grace, and Shinedown. I really enjoyed the set, but I think what I enjoyed the most was going and doing it all with my man. We had dinner at one of my favorite restaurants and went shopping at the Japanese grocery that I used to frequent when I lived there. My man may have found himself a new meal that he loves and he’s hoping to find a comparable alternative here in town somewhere. We had a dinner at IHOP before we headed home for the night and a great time was had by all.

For the rest of my time off, I’ve been incredibly lazy. I’ve cleaned up the house a little bit, mostly laundry, but I’ve been just hanging out here at home and playing Final Fantasy XI online with some friends. I managed to get my taxes signed, pick up some new contact lenses, and have some Japanese food while my man was at work. I guess that means I was somewhat constructive during this whole thing. I’m not sure if I’ll be glad to get back to work or not though. Work has been burning me out lately. Thankfully, my four 12-hr shifts may be at an end. That would be great.

The only downside to this whole vacation? I’m still craving salmon sashimi every day. I guess I just haven’t had enough of it. Well, we’re going out this week for date night (yes, again) and we’re considering a new Japanese place we haven’t been to yet, so I’m going to nom on even more. It’ll be fun. We’ll have dinner and probably see a movie (the new Oz movie). It’s just something we do to keep our relationship from growing stale. I could sit at home all day and be fine, but my man gets restless and likes to go out so I do it for him. If he’s happy, I’m happy. That’s just how we roll.

But that’s how my vacation has been. It hasn’t been “OMG AMAZING!”, but it has been restful. Glad to have gotten one. My next one isn’t until October though so I’m going to be ready by then. Jesus.

Comments are closed.