[Plot Generator #1] [Fiction] [First Person] [Blurb]

Posted: July 26, 2013 in Fiction, Prompts
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

The story starts when your protagonist goes on a blind date.
Another character is a hacker who believes s/he is the reincarnation of a famous person.

Blind dates aren’t always fun. I’ve only been on a few, but each one has had their share of strange events and feelings. I’ve always tended to clam up or I go in the opposite direction and spew every thought that is generated in my brain, no matter how insignificant. This time I was determined to be different. I would monitor my thoughts and try to pass them through a filter before I allowed them to tumble out. I’d make a point to speak and hold a conversation rather than leaving those awkward moments of silence that always seem to unfold. I was going to do this one right and get a handle on myself in case there needed to be more dates further down the road. So far, I was zero for five and that was depressing.

Waiting is always the worst part. I tend to get where I need to be early in order to scope out my routes of escape just in case I need one. Don’t get me wrong, I’m too nice to want to ditch a guy in mid-date, but, honestly, you’ve got to have these things planned. Sometimes I just want to end the night and go on home without going any further. It’s nothing against him. You just don’t feel it and it’s time to go.

My phone vibrated and I checked it just to make sure that it wasn’t my date cancelling or saying he’s going to be late.

I got it figured out

Oh, good lord. One of my close friends had recently dug into past lives and decided that he had to find out who he was and how many he had. I was so sick of hearing it.

Ive figured it out and its horrible. I’m Pol Pot.

He continued and I had to shake my head. Pol Pot? I’d heard of him, but I didn’t know much about him other than he was a bad, bad guy. Genocide. I learned that much from watching some Eddie Izzard stand-up. All these apps at my fingertips and I had no clue who he was. I hit up the wiki for Pol Pot and shook my head. You can’t be Pol Pot. He died in 1998. You were born in 80.

Ur sure?

His grammar in texts always kills me, but I have just learned to deal with it over time. I’m very sure. Why would you want to be a mass murderer anyway?

I dont. Was thinking marie curie to. Probably her.

The woman that discovered x-rays? Sure. Go with that sir. He had this obsession with science and hacking that I could use to justify his decision on Curie. The sooner that we got this settled, the soon her would give up on this whole thing and fall back into his computer for a while. I was hoping that it would end the conversation there, but my phone vibrated again.

He show up yet?

Not yet, but I’m early.

Can look him up if u’ll get his full name. Get you his $$$$

No, that’s okay. I’d like to get to know him before his wallet.

Just a suggestion. Have fun.

Thanks. Enjoy researching Marie Curie. I locked my phone and put it into a pocket in my purse so I wouldn’t be tempted to get into it again. I always want to fiddle with my telephone when I’m nervous. This time it would be different. Hopefully.

Comments are closed.